Five Andrew Goodman Ambassadors Selected as 2021-2022 Newman Civic Fellows by Campus Compact

Campus Compact, a national coalition of colleges and universities committed to the public purposes of higher education, selected five Andrew Goodman Ambassadors among its 2021-2022 Cohort of Newman Civic Fellows. Reacting to this prestigious recognition, The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s Senior Program Manager – Movement Strategy Wambui Gatheru congratulated these Ambassadors on this achievement, saying “five Andrew Goodman Ambassadors being named Newman Civic Fellows speaks to the incredible commitment our students have to civic engagement, social justice, and leadership.”

Ambassadors Beth Allen (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Alisson Anguiano Salas (University of Wisconsin-Parkside), Autumn Cunningham (Northampton Community College), Elise Sturgeon (Simpson College), and Katherine Treadgold (SUNY Geneseo) join a distinguished Cohort of 212 student leaders from 39 states, Washington, D.C., and Mexico. To be considered for the Fellowship, student leaders at Campus Compact member institutions must be nominated by their President or Chancellor. According to Campus Compact, exemplary students who are selected as Newman Civic Fellows “demonstrate commitment to finding solutions for challenges facing communities locally, nationally, and internationally.”   

During the year-long Fellowship, student leaders “receive learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional, and civic growth.” In addition to attending virtual training and networking, the Ambassadors will be invited to the two-day Annual Convening of Fellows at the conclusion of the Fellowship. “We are so lucky to have these young visionaries, working together to make democracy more accessible for all, as part of our Andrew Goodman Vote Everywhere program,” said Gatheru. 

Learn more about the five Andrew Goodman Ambassadors selected as 2021-2022 Newman Civic Fellows below: 

Beth Allen, University of Wisconsin-Madison ‘22

Majoring in Social Work and Political Science, Beth Allen has worked in the Office of Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers and at the UW-Madison Morgridge Center for Public Service. She was also a leader for a program of Student Vote Organizers, the Vice President of the Executive Board for the Advocates for Diverse Abilities, and a member of the Chi Omega sorority. Chancellor Rebecca Blank writes that in addition to Beth’s passion for voter engagement, she seeks “to make the campus a more inclusive place.” 

Alisson Anguiano Salas, University of Wisconsin-Parkside ‘22

Majoring in English and Political Science, Alisson is involved in the Student Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council; the Racine for Racial Equity and Environmental Justice group; and Latinos Unidos. She has also helped develop a scholarship for Latinx students. Chancellor Deborah Ford writes that Alisson is “an exceptional student leader, an advocate for BIPOC students, and a champion for student engagement” who has “worked tirelessly to educate and encourage her fellow students to become informed voters.”

Autumn Cunningham, Northampton Community College ‘23

Majoring in Communications Studies, Autumn is the Student Representative in the Campus Democratic Engagement Coalition. Autumn has assisted students with registering to vote and provided nonpartisan election information and resources, plus made recommendations for institutionalizing civic engagement. President Mark Erickson writes that Autumn “plays a vital role in Northampton Community College’s continuous commitment to civic responsibility and leadership” and describes her as “an agent of social change.”  

Elise Sturgeon, Simpson College ‘22

Majoring in Political Science and Applied Philosophy, Elise has worked on political campaigns from a young age and served as a Campus Election Engagement Project Fellow, an SC Colloquium leader, and as the Undergraduate Assistant for Simpson’s National Champion debate team. President Marsha Kelliher writes that Elise’s “leadership of nonpartisan voter registration drives has set a new record for student voter registration and midterm election turnout at Simpson College.”

Katherine Treadgold, SUNY Geneseo ‘23

Majoring in International Relations and Geography, Katherine is deeply concerned for our planet’s future and involved in the Geneseo Votes Coalition, Geneseo Beekeeping Club, the College Democrats, and the Livingston County Democrat Committee Board. President Denise Battles writes that Katherine “is a student leader actively addressing sustainability, voting rights, and civic engagement” by working toward “changing the location of [their] on-campus polling site, developing a virtual voter registration curriculum for orientation” and more.

Read the Campus Compact announcement here. Explore the 2021-2022 Newman Civic Fellow Cohort here

About The Andrew Goodman Foundation 

The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s mission is to make young voices and votes a powerful force in democracy by training the next generation of leaders, engaging young voters, and challenging restrictive voter suppression laws. The organization is named after Andrew Goodman, a Freedom Summer volunteer and champion of equality and voting rights who was murdered, alongside James Earl Chaney and Michael Schwerner, by the KKK in 1964 while registering Black Americans to vote in Mississippi. To learn more, visit