Dozens Of Members Of The Andrew Goodman Network Recognized At 2021 ALL IN Awards Ceremony

At their third annual ALL IN Awards Ceremony, the ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge recognized 68 Andrew Goodman Campuses, Campus Champions, and Ambassadors with awards or seals. Held alongside the Student Learn Students Vote Coalition’s Post Election Gathering on November 8-10, the ALL IN Awards Ceremony honors colleges, universities, faculty, and students who achieve excellence in nonpartisan student democratic engagement. 

Through institutional engagement, direct student engagement, and fostering a national higher education network, the ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge envisions creating a more engaged and inclusive democracy. In 2020, the ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge organized voting challenges in 19 states, encompassing more than 426 institutions enrolling 4.3 million students.  

Reflecting on the Andrew Goodman Network’s numerous awards, Caroline Smith, AGF’s Senior Program Manager: Partnership Strategist, says “I am extremely proud of the many Andrew Goodman Campuses, Ambassadors, and Campus Champions who received recognition at the ALL IN Awards Ceremony this year. These results are a great indication of the unique impact of AGF’s year-round, long-term partnerships and investment in youth civic engagement. Most importantly, it’s a well-deserved celebration of the truly incredible students and staff we have the honor of working with each year.”

In order to qualify for an award, colleges and universities must have shown exemplary effort in organizing their campuses and communities to turn out and vote in the 2020 Election. Unlike other years, 2020 presented new obstacles to voter turnout, as campuses had to successfully and quickly navigate a global pandemic, remote and hybrid learning environments, and rapidly changing election laws and procedures. 

Dr. Teri Platt, Andrew Goodman Campus Champion at Clark Atlanta University, received the esteemed Standout Faculty Champion Award. “It is an honor to receive recognition for working to expand access and participation in democracy through voter engagement. Support from and collaboration with organizations like The Andrew Goodman Foundation help to advance our collective goals of amplifying voices and centering participation for students and communities. I am humbled to receive the Standout Faculty Champion Award because it represents a collective effort of working with students, faculty, administrators, and civic engagement organizations to reach students during a pandemic for the cause of participatory democracy. I am proud of what we were able to accomplish and will continue the work of supporting student voter participation.”

The following Andrew Goodman Campus Champions received an ALL IN Award for their work to make voting more accessible to students at their universities and in their communities:

  • Monica Clarke, Alabama A&M University—Standout Administrator Champion Award
  • Dr. Teri Platt, Clark Atlanta University—Standout Faculty Champion Award

The following Andrew Goodman Ambassadors were named on the Student Honor Roll for having engaged their peers, their campuses, their policymakers, and other stakeholders in making it easier for students to access voter registration, education, and the polls:

  • Brandon Daye, North Carolina A&T State University
  • Tamia Fowlkes, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Anne Green, Stony Brook University

The following Andrew Goodman Campuses received awards:

  • Clark Atlanta University—Highest HBCU Voting Rate Increase
  • Spelman College—Highest HBCU Voting Rate
  • North Carolina A&T State University—Highest HBCU Voting Registration Rate
  • Stony Brook University—Best Campus Action Plan
  • Towson University—Best Campus Action Plan

The following Andrew Goodman Campuses received a Gold Seal, which means that 70%-79% of eligible voters enrolled at their university participated in the 2020 Presidential Election: 

  • Allegheny College
  • Bard College
  • Case Western Reserve University
  • East Carolina University
  • Elon University
  • Georgetown University
  • Georgia State University
  • Iowa State University
  • Kutztown University
  • Miami University
  • Montclair State University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Ramapo College
  • Simpson College
  • Spelman College
  • St. Lawrence University
  • Towson University
  • University of Baltimore
  • University of California-San Diego
  • University of Florida
  • University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of San Francisco
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Western Carolina University

The following Andrew Goodman Campuses received a Silver Seal, which means that 60%-69% of eligible voters enrolled at their university participated in the 2020 Presidential Election:

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Arizona State University
  • Baylor University
  • Binghamton University
  • Bowling Green State University
  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Cornell University
  • Elizabeth City State University
  • Lincoln University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Mesa Community College
  • Morehouse College
  • Northampton Community College
  • Pace University
  • SUNY: Geneseo
  • SUNY: Stony Brook University
  • Texas Woman’s University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Central Arkansas
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Louisville
  • University of South Carolina-Upstate
  • University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
  • University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

 The following Andrew Goodman Campuses received a Bronze Seal, which means that 50%-59% of eligible voters enrolled at their university participated in the 2020 Presidential Election:

  • Miami Dade College
  • Texas A&M University-Central Texas
  • Tougaloo College
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin-Parkside

About The Andrew Goodman Foundation

The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s mission is to make young voices and votes a powerful force in democracy by training the next generation of leaders, engaging young voters, and challenging restrictive voter suppression laws. The organization is named after Andrew Goodman, a Freedom Summer volunteer and champion of equality and voting rights who was murdered, alongside James Earl Chaney and Michael Schwerner, by the KKK in 1964 while registering Black Americans to vote in Mississippi. To learn more, visit