46 Andrew Goodman Campuses Receive 2023 Voter Friendly Campus Designation


Margaret Sasser Knehans
(334) 451-5114

Andrew Goodman Campuses received the designation from NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education and Fair Election Center’s Campus Vote Project

Forty-six Andrew Goodman Campuses received the 2023 “Voter Friendly Campus” designation from NASPA – Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education and Fair Election Center’s Campus Vote Project. The 46 Andrew Goodman Campuses are among 258 colleges and universities across 38 states and Washington, D.C. to receive the designation, which recognizes campuses that have committed to voter registration, education, and turnout as part of their institutional mission. 

“We are so proud that 46 of our Andrew Goodman Campuses received such well-deserved recognition,” says Caroline Smith, The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s Director of Programs. “The Andrew Goodman Foundation is committed to sustainable movement-building and structural change on campuses and beyond. It comes as no surprise, but as a great inspiration, that Andrew Goodman Ambassadors’ organizing efforts to increase youth civic participation are making a difference on their campuses, and that those campuses are now being designated as Voter Friendly.”

Voter Friendly Campuses completed a three-step process, including developing a 2022 campus action plan, executing that plan, and assessing it. However, these campuses demonstrate a commitment to democratic engagement not just in federal election years, but year after year. Voter Friendly Campuses are continuing to prioritize the youth vote in 2023, a year with critical statewide elections. 

The following Andrew Goodman Campuses earned the Voter Friendly Campus designation for 2023:

  1. Allegheny College
  2. Arizona State University
  3. Binghamton University
  4. Bowling Green State University
  5. Case Western Reserve University
  6. Clark Atlanta University
  7. Cornell University
  8. Dillard University
  9. East Carolina University
  10. Elizabeth City State University
  11. Elon University
  12. Georgia State University – Atlanta
  13. Georgia State University – Clarkston
  14. Georgia State University – Decatur
  15. Georgia State University – Dunwoody
  16. Iowa State University
  17. Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
  18. Marquette University
  19. Mesa Community College
  20. Miami Dade College – Kendall
  21. Miami Dade College – North
  22. Miami Dade College – Wolfson
  23. Miami University
  24. Montclair State University
  25. Morehouse College
  26. North Carolina A&T State University
  27. Ramapo College of New Jersey
  28. Simpson College
  29. Stony Brook University
  30. SUNY Geneseo
  31. Texas Woman’s University
  32. Towson University
  33. University of Baltimore
  34. University of Dayton
  35. University of Michigan
  36. University of Mississippi
  37. University of Pennsylvania
  38. University of San Francisco
  39. University of Utah
  40. University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
  41. University of Wisconsin – Madison
  42. University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
  43. University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
  44. Virginia Commonwealth University
  45. Western Carolina University
  46. Xavier University of Louisiana

About The Andrew Goodman Foundation

The Andrew Goodman Foundation’s mission is to make young voices and votes a powerful force in democracy by training the next generation of leaders, engaging young voters, and challenging restrictive voter suppression laws. The organization is named after Andrew Goodman, a Freedom Summer volunteer and champion of equality and voting rights who was murdered, alongside James Earl Chaney and Michael Schwerner, by the KKK in 1964 while registering Black Americans to vote in Mississippi. To learn more, visit